Where Is It?

I’ve had the misfortune of having to frequently visit my dentist’s office. They direct me to the torture chamber and I recline in that comfortable seat when my eyes land on a picture mounted on their wall. It’s always a pretty scene. I concentrate on the image of that picture and it appears to me to be a very calming and comforting picture of a place that I’m not familiar with. I view it with comforting curiosity wondering where that place might exist. I look for some indication of its location but there is none. As I continue to wonder where that fascinating place might be, my thoughts go back to my computer screen where I have an extensive array of pictures of various different places in the world; some are beautiful beyond belief; I wonder where in the world could those places be, but there is no indication. After agonizing for a long time during the events of this wonderment, I was very disturbed that  the submitter of these images did not caption the works to identify their location! To this day nothing disturbs me more that to see a beautiful scene that does not indicate its whereabouts. I really believe that every picture made public should be required to display the location of that scene in detail. I see works of art that depict beautiful settings, perhaps of cabins by serene lake shores with geese flying overhead and children sitting on the lakeside dock trying to catch fish and I have to know where the author has been to have retained the images presented. If you are an artist or a photographer, please have respect for those who will view your works, to provide an indication or description of where those images are; if they are the figment of your imagination, then please indicate that the works presented are “fantasy”. I thank you in advance!

Leave a comment